National Employment Standards

The National Employment Standards (also known as the NES) cover everyone in the national workplace relations system. They started on 1 January 2010.

The National Employment Standards are 10 minimum conditions for employees. Together with the national minimum wage, they are a minimum safety net for employees.

They include minimum entitlements for leave, public holidays, notice of termination and redundancy pay.

An employee’s minimum entitlements can also come from a modern award or agreement. For more information go to  Fair Work Ombudsman.

The National Employment Standards (NES) set out minimum conditions of employment. You can find details of how the standards apply in the fact sheets here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s